Vietnam English Information News

ICC Women’s World T20: India vs Pakistan statistical preview

By: Sports Desk | Published: November 10, 2018 4:58:22 pm

India vs Pakistan, Women's Asia Cup

India have reached the final of the Women’s Asia Cup. (Source: PTI)

From 9th to 24th November 2018, the West Indies, for the second time, will host the Women’s World T20. The sixth edition of the tournament will see players from 10 countries battling for one of the top honours women’s cricket.

The teams are divided into two groups of 5 teams each. Group A comprises of England, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh. Group B is made up of India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan & Ireland. The top 2 teams from each group qualify for the Semi-Finals. The Indian team will be looking forward to improving their performance in the World T20. Apart from the first two editions where they reached the semi-finals, they could never progress beyond the first round in the succeeding tournaments. But in their path stand arch-rivals Pakistan.

The Indian women’s team will be overwhelming favourites against arch-rivals Pakistan in its second group league encounter of the ICC World T20 At Guyana on Sunday. With momentum firmly on India’s side, the ‘Women In Blue’ would like to set the record straight after losing to their arch-rivals in the 2016 edition at home. However, since that loss in Delhi, India have played Pakistan thrice across two editions of Asia Cup, winning all the battles.

Interesting numbers also point out to that every time Harmanpreet Kaur has played in an Indo-Pak contest, the women in blue have emerged victorious. Former skipper Mithali Raj has a record of 2 wins and 2 losses.

In Women’s World T20 both the teams have met each other five times where India has won 3 and lost 2.

In Women’s T20 International, India have won eight times while Pakistan has won only twice.

Mithali Raj is the highest scorer with 259 runs. She is followed by Sana Mir who has hit 146 runs. Diana Baig has the best strike rate- 150

Among bowlers, Ekta Bisht has the most number of wickets- 10. While Urooj Mumtaz recorded the best economy rate- 2.71.

Here are the last five matches between India women team and Pakistan women team:

19 Feb 2017

India beat Pakistan by 7 wickets in the only other match played this year. It was the World Cup Qualifier and Pakistan was dismissed for a meager 67 runs.

7 Feb 2013

It was a playoff match for seventh place during the last Women’s World Cup in 2013. Mithali Raj’s century and Niranjana Nagarajan’s three wickets helped India win the match by 6 wickets.

7 March 2009

After dismissing Pakistan for an embarrassing 57 runs, India won the Women’s World Cup Group B fixture by a whooping 10 wickets.

9 May 2008

Half-centuries by Jaya Sharma, Mithali Raj and Rumeli Dhar ensured that India recorded a win by the biggest margin in 2008 when they beat Pakistan by 207 runs in the Asia Cup.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Smriti Mandhana, Taniya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Mithali Raj, Arundhati Reddy, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav.

Pakistan: Javeria Khan (captain), Aiman Anwer, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir, Sidra Nawaz, Umaima Sohail.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App